Prof. Katja Zeppenfeld


Head of Electrophysiology


Leiden LUMC


View on PubMed


Katja Zeppenfeld is Professor of Clinical electrophysiology and head of the Clinical, Cardiac Electrophysiology Unit at Leiden University Medical Centre. She is cardiologist and invasive electrophysiologist (European Heart Rhythm Association (EHRA) certification in device therapy and invasive electrophysiology) and was trained in Germany, the UK, and the USA. She defended her thesis in 2002 and was appointed Professor in clinical electrophysiology at Leiden University in 2012. She is Visiting Professor at the University of Nashville, USA and affiliated with the Department of Cardiology at Aarhus University Hospital, Denmark as an affiliated Professor. In 2021 she received an honorary doctorate at the Faculty of Health at Aarhus University.

She was involved in numerous directorial duties within the EHRA, among others as chairperson of the certification committee and executive board member. She has been involved, as chairperson and committee member, in organizing and executing a number of international scientific congresses, of the European Society of Cardiology, the European Heart Rhythm Association and the Heart Rhythm Society. She has served as associate editor and Guest editor in chief, of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology: Clinical Electrophysiology and serves actively on the editorial board of a number of different journals including Circulation: Arrhythmia and Electrophysiology.

She is member and section chair of different international guideline committees, including the upcoming HRS Expert Consensus Statement in arrhythmic risk in NMD, the 2019 HRS/EHRA/APHRS/LAHRS Expert Consensus Statement on catheter ablation of ventricular arrhythmias and the 2020 ESC Guidelines for the management of adults with congenital heart disease (ACHD). She is currently vicechair of the EHRA consensus paper on the management of electrical Storm and the AHA scientific statement on arrhythmias in repaired tetralogy of Fallot and chairperson of the 2022 ESC Guidelines for the management of patients with ventricular arrhythmias and prevention of sudden cardiac death.

Scroll to Top